Being Vulnerable

This is a hard one. When it comes to vulnerability, I believe I can only see a small light in the darkness of faith. Why? Because I have built up walls inside my mind. Walls that were created when I was small and learned to protect my emotions. Walls that I learned when I was older to not trust people whom I thought loved me.

But walls also do what I had not intended. Walls do not let in love.

I am reminded of the story of the “Man of  La Mancha”.  Aldonza was a barmaid and hooker, yet, Don Quixote called her by the name of a lady and a prize to be treasured. “Dulcinea,” he said. And it melted her walls.

For me I hear His voice through His blood stained, glorious face. Though it is faint, He is saying my name. His voice is authentic and quiet, yet loud and fierce. It breaks through the darkness and tells me that because of His protective view, I do not have to worry how others may treat me or what others will do with what I say or who I am. He shields me and whispers in my ear a name so beautiful I can hardly take it in. A love so wide, so deep that it makes me collapse in freedom. It is my name on the white stone (Revelation 2:17). It is my “Dulcinea”.

What is your name? Can you hear Him calling through your dark places?

“To know the love of Christ which surpasses knowledge that you might be filled with all the fullness if God.”

Leave a Reply

